The Fate of Lee Khan

Out of all the King Hu films that I have seen so far, although The Fate of Lee Khan reminds me a lot of Dragon Inn, I have to say that The Fate of Lee Khan may be the one that tops my list. At first, the film started off with a rather slow build up. Having had no prior knowledge of what The Fate of Lee Khan is even about, I found mysethe-fate-of-lee-khanlf searching throughout the first act of the film to find out what the conflict of the film is. The characters are quite interesting from the beginning, but because I did not know what the conflict of the film was, I did not know which character I had to pay close attention to. However, upon Lee Khan’s arrival to the tavern, I found myself enjoying the film until the very end.

The aspect of the film that I like the most is the feminist aspect of the film. There are half a dozen fead423-fateofleekhan-helena-ma-hoi-lun-angela-mao-ying-li-lihua-hu-chin-ng-ming-tsui_7b00e0f694b26ef8eb3611c1eb28df5amale characters who kick major butt throughout the film. They all held my interest and they had a no-nonsense attitude about them that I absolutely love. It is very clear that these women did not need a man to save them. They are all perfectly capable of taking care of themselves. Even in the climax of the film, it is because of these women that the resistance fighters achieve victory. The feminist aspect is seen in other King Hu films that I have seen as well; however, I think that The Fate of Lee Khan does the best job at celebrating feminism. images

Leave a Reply

